“Tangled: Asian American Women and Rope Communities”

Panel discussion featuring Madame Butterfly, Midori and Kim Lee and hosted by Marla Renee Stewart

11 am PT / 12 pm MT / 1 pm CT / 2 pm ET

Sunday, October 25th 2020

The BIPOC experience in kink subcultures is often fraught and their voices and experiences often go unheard – even when they’ve been shouting it out loud. What are people’s experiences? By listening to personal stories, and the personal histories of our communities, we can strengthen our culture through empathy, connection, and dialogue.  

In this panel let’s listen deeply. Listen the experience of these three Asian American women share their journey in rope and kink. They do not represent or stand for the entirety of Asian American women. What they share will be their personal truth. From their stories, we might open our hearts to hear the stories of so many who often go unheard.

We seek to give platform and voice to three significant contributors to rope community and kink culture today; Madame Butterfly, a BDSM Educator who created a vibrant shared learning culture in San Francisco early on and is known for her hand spun silk ropes, Midori, founder of Rope Dojo (R) and author of the first English shibari instruction book “Seductive Art of Japanese Bondage”  and Kim Lee, up and coming talent in Rope Performance and Education and Pro Domme.

Our invited guest moderator is Marla Renee Stewart, a sexologist,  University lecturer, coach, and co-founder of the Atlanta-based Sex Down South Conference. She also facilitates the Race and Kink series. We look forward to an afternoon of listening to our panelists and learning more about how we can engage with this hobby we love in a way that is humanistic to all participants with respect and appreciation for the cultural context that created it.